Canadian Community Newspaper Awards honour the industry’s best

On April 29, publishers, editors and reporters from across the country came together to honour the very best in the community newspaper industry at the 2011 Canadian Community Newspaper Awards.

The awards were presented during a special gala dinner, hosted by famed columnist Arthur Black (pictured right), at the River Rock Casino Theatre in Richmond, BC. Yukon News topped the list of winners with six awards followed by the Whistler Question with four.

Following the awards presentation each guest received a digital winners book to take home filled with inspiring entries from all of the finalists.

For a complete list of all the winners please click here or visit

Find your photo on Facebook – click here to tag yourself in our Canadian Community Newspaper Awards album and see all of the highlights from the event.

To view all of the photos from the awards gala visit and click on the gallery you would like to view (ie: CCNA awards). Use the password INK to access the photo galleries. To save an image: click on the thumbnail you would like to download and it will appear on screen in a slightly larger preview size. Click the image again and it will open as a high-resolution full screen image. Right click on the image and select Save As to save the image to your computer.


Special Awards

During the gala, a number of other exemplary individuals were honoured for their outstanding leadership in the newspaper business and within their own communities.

CCNA past president and publisher of the Powell River Peak Joyce Carlson (pictured right) was given the Margaret Hennigar Award for Exemplary Leadership for 2011 while Brad Alden, the regional publisher for NOW newspapers, received a President’s Quill. Sean Murray, another past president and president of Advocate Publishing, was inducted as an honorary life member of the CCNA in recognition of his dedication to the organization and to the community publishing industry.

The Canadian Community Newspapers Association would like to thank all of the newspapers, judges and sponsors that participated in the 2011 Canadian Community Newspaper Awards. If you have any questions about the awards program please contact Magda Mroz at