CAJ Awards for Investigative Journalism

On May 14, the Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) announced the winners of its annual awards program honouring investigative journalism in newspapers, magazines, television and online. Steve Buist from The Hamilton Spectator took home the top honour, the Don McGillivray Award for Investigative Journalism, for his series Code Red.

Steve Bonspiel, publisher of The Eastern Door (QC) won in the community newspaper category for his story, ‘Mohawk Council Turns up Heat on Non-Natives.’ In the Print Feature category, Robert Cribb of the Toronto Star was honoured for his piece, The Outsiders while Joe Bryksa of the Winnipeg Free Press took home the award in the Photojournalism category for an investigative series titled No Running Water.

The CAJ also announced an upcoming collaboration with Journalists for Human Rights (jhr) on a new award for human rights reporting. Submissions will be accepted from Canadian journalists reporting from countries around the world, including within Canada. The award will be presented for the first time at the 2012 CAJ conference, happening in conjunction with INK+BEYOND 2012 at the Royal York Hotel in Toronto on April 26-28.

Click here for a complete list of winners »