Changes to CCNA board of directors

There have been a number of recent changes to the board of directors for the Canadian Community Newspapers Association (CCNA).

During elections held on April 25, 2012, the CCNA board elected Greg Nesbitt as the association’s 93rd president. Nesbitt, the publisher of Crossroads This Week and owner of Nesbitt Publishing Ltd. since 1977, first joined the CCNA board in 2002 and became a member of the executive committee in 2007. He also previously served two terms as president of the Manitoba Community Newspapers Association.

Outgoing president Paul MacNeill assumed the role of chairman of the board and immediate past president. Also elected were Abbas Homayed of Northern Life, Sudbury, ON, as first vice-president; and Neil Thom of Yorkton This Week, SK, as second vice-president. Roger Holmes of Star News Inc., AB, was appointed treasurer, and Hugh Nicholson, Glacier Media Group, BC, was appointed to a second term as corporate secretary.

CCNA’s regional affiliates also made a number of new appointments to the CCNA board:

Newspapers Atlantic named Fred Fiander of TC Media’s Western Nova Scotia News Group as its second representative, replacing Paul MacNeill.

The Quebec Community Newspapers Association (QCNA) appointed Steve Bonspiel of The Eastern Door as its newest representative, replacing retiring director Heather Dickson.

In addition, the BC and Yukon Community Newspaper Association (BCYCNA) has approved its 126th member newspaper, giving the regional association an additional seat at the CCNA board table. BCYCNA has appointed Chuck Bennett, group publisher for Black Press Kootenay Region, as its fourth CCNA representative.

The full CCNA board list can be viewed at