Winners revealed for the 66th annual National Newspaper Awards

Editorial cartoonist Bruce MacKinnon has been named the first-ever National Newspaper Awards (NNA) Journalist of the Year, chosen from among 22 NNA winners announced at a gala dinner in Toronto on Friday, May 22.

The Globe and Mail took top honours at the ceremony, with five awards. Six other organizations won two awards each: The Canadian Press, the Hamilton Spectator, the Moncton Times & Transcript, the Ottawa Citizen, the Toronto Star and the Vancouver Sun. The Edmonton Journal, the Halifax Chronicle Herald, the National Post, the Toronto Sun and the Winnipeg Free Press also won awards, in a year that recognized journalistic excellence from coast to coast.

MacKinnon, of the Halifax Chronicle Herald, won in the Editorial Cartooning category for a portfolio that included a powerful image of a Canadian veteran stepping down from the National War Memorial to claim the fallen body of Corporal Nathan Cirillo. The cartoon became the iconic image representing the shooting on Parliament Hill last October, after it was picked up and published around the world.

View a complete list of this year’s National Newspaper Awards winners »