Travers fellowship winners to report on deadly antibiotic-resistant superbugs

Aleksandra Sagan and Laura Kane, who are both Vancouver-based reporters, have won this year’s 2018 R. James Travers Foreign Corresponding Fellowship. Their project will look into the issue of containing antibiotic-resistant superbugs — a threat that poses a deadly risk to Canadians, the award recipients say.

The award, valued at $25,000, is bestowed in honour of Jim Travers, who was a foreign correspondent for Southam News, the predecessor of Postmedia Network. He covered conflicts in Africa and the Middle East in the 1980s, he went on to become general manager of Southam, then editor of the Ottawa Citizen.

You can read more about Kane and Sagan’s project here.