National NewsMedia Council appoints inaugural executive chair

The National NewsMedia Council of Canada today announced that its new Executive Chair will be John Fraser, the veteran journalist, author and educator who was the founding president and CEO of the three-year-old institution. He succeeds Shelley Chrest of British Columbia who now resumes her former role as vice chair (Western Canada). The other vice chairs are Joanne De Laurentiis (Central Canada) and Miller Ayre (Eastern Canada).

In the position of Executive Director is Pat Perkel who will continue as Complaints Co-ordinator in this reconfiguring of the pivotal role she has been playing at the NNC since its inception.

The NNC was formed in the fall of 2015 out of the former provincial press councils in British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario and Atlantic Canada. The Alberta Press Council members have recently elected to join the NNC in January 2019.

To read more about this change, please click here.