National Newspaper Awards celebrate the best in Canadian journalism

The Globe and Mail led all organizations with nine wins among the 23 categories at the National Newspaper Awards, which were handed out in Toronto last Friday.

La Presse had six, while the Canadian Press, Halifax Chronicle Herald, National Post, St. John’s Telegram, Toronto Star, TorStar and the Vancouver Sun/The Province had one each. The Saskatoon StarPhoenix and Regina Leader-Post shared an award.

The Journalist of the Year award went to Isabelle Hachey of La Presse, who was the night’s only double winner. She took home top honours in International Reporting, for her work from Ukraine at the onset of the war, as well as in the Columns category..

Other highlights included:

• There were 11 first-time winners this year: Glenda Luymes and Nathan Griffiths, Vancouver Sun/The Province (Special Topic), Charles-Éric Blais-Poulin and Marissa Groguhé, La Presse (Arts and Entertainment); Stéphanie Grammond, La Presse (Editorials); Juanita Mercer, St. John’s Telegram (Local Reporting); Mahima Singh, Globe and Mail (who teamed with Bill Curry in Politics); Rachel Mendleson, Torstar (who teamed with Steve Buist to win Project of the Year); Emma Gilchrist, Globe and Mail (Long Feature); Rosalyn Roy, National Post (Short Feature); and Robert Skinner, La Presse (General News Photo).

• Grant Robertson of the Globe and Mail claimed his ninth NNA, setting a record for most career wins. Robertson won the Sports award for his three-part series on Hockey Canada, in which he explored the organization’s finances, the National Equity Fund, and the connection between player fees and sexual assaults. He also was nominated as part of a Globe and Mail team for Sustained News Coverage; that award went to Vincent Larouche of La Presse. Robertson entered the night with eight NNAs, tied with editorial cartoonist Serge Chapleau and reporters Jacquie McNish and Stephanie Nolen.

This year’s competition saw 69 finalists in 23 categories, representing 18 news organizations. Finalists and winners were selected by three-judge panels in each category from 923 entries submitted for work published for the first time in 2022. Entries were submitted by 76 news organizations.

You can see the full list of winners here.