Home Goff Penny Awards Goff Penny Awards – Winners 2023

Goff Penny Awards – Winners 2023

JUNE 25, 2024

News Media Canada is pleased to announce that Jenna Head and Gabrielle Piché have been selected as the recipients of the 33rd annual Hon. Edward Goff Penny Memorial Prize for Young Canadian Journalists for their work published in 2023.

For a list of previous winners, click here.

For more information, contact us at goffpenny@newsmediacanada.ca.

Small Market Newspaper category (circulation 25,000 and under):

Jenna Head, Reporter, St. John’s Telegram, St. John’s, NL

Head - headshot

Jenna Head is a journalist from Newfoundland and Labrador. Formerly a reporter for The Telegram, Jenna is passionate about what affects our local communities and culture. She is known for her work on Newfoundland and Labrador’s housing crisis, addictions, and people-focused features. Jenna is committed to fair, ethical, and accurate reporting. She currently works for the CBC bureau in St. John’s.

Click the links below to view Jenna Head’s entry submissions:

Large Market Newspaper category (circulation over 25,000):

Gabrielle Piché, Reporter, Winnipeg Free Press, Winnipeg, MB


Gabrielle Piché reports on business for the Winnipeg Free Press. She wrote for newspapers in the Interlake and southern Manitoba before landing at the Free Press and completed her schooling at Red River College Polytechnic and the University of Winnipeg.

Click the links below to view Gabrielle Piché‘s entry submissions: