National Newspaper Awards

The National Newspaper Awards were established in 1949 by the Toronto Press Club with the financial and moral support of the late C. George McCullagh. Each year, the NNAs honour the best journalism in daily newspapers and digital publications.

Since 1989, the awards have been governed by a Board of Governors representing both daily newspapers and the public. The awards are administered by the Canadian Daily Newspaper Awards Programme Administration Corporation.

The National Newspaper Awards are funded through an annual fund-raising program (to which almost 65% of Canadian newspapers contribute), entry fees, newspaper corporate donations to assist in the awards gala, and ticket sales to the gala.

To be eligible for the 2015 competition, an entry must have a publication date between January 1, 2015, and December 31, 2015, by a Canadian daily newspaper (in print or online) in English or French, or by an Internet site that meets eligibility criteria established by the Board of Governors.

This year’s winners will be announced on May 27, 2016, at a gala awards ceremony in Edmonton, Alberta.

Details about the awards program, including past winners, can be found at


Lauraine Woods, Program Director
National Newspaper Awards
Tel: 416-923-3567 ext. 3228