Home Goff Penny Awards Goff Penny Memorial Prizes – 2015 Winners

Goff Penny Memorial Prizes – 2015 Winners

Newspapers Canada is pleased to announce that Andrea Hill and Andrea Peacock have been named the winners of the 25th annual Goff Penny Memorial Prize for Young Journalists. For more information, please contact us at awards@newsmediacanada.ca.

Large Market Newspaper category (circulation over 25,000):

Andrea Hill, Reporter, StarPhoenix, Saskatoon, SK

Goff Penny Award Winner Andrea Hill

Originally from Edmonton, Andrea has been a reporter at the Saskatoon StarPhoenix for two years. Before landing in Saskatchewan, she covered federal politics with the Postmedia Parliamentary bureau in Ottawa and international Arctic issues with the Barents Observer, an English-language news site in the Norwegian Arctic. Andrea graduated from Carleton University, where she completed a bachelor of journalism degree with combined honours in journalism and biology.

Click the links below to view Andrea Hill’s entries:

Small Market Newspaper category (circulation 25,000 and under):

Andrea Peacock, Reporter, The Daily Courier, Kelowna, BC

Goff Penny Award Winner Andrea-Peacock

Originally from Penticton, Andrea has been a reporter at The Daily Courier in Kelowna for one year. Prior to working in Kelowna, she was a reporter for Black Press in Victoria. Andrea graduated from Langara College with a post-graduate certificate in journalism after completing a degree in economics and public administration at the University of Victoria. While at Langara College, Andrea won the Jack Webster student journalism award and the B.C. and Yukon Community Newspapers Association scholarship.

Click the links below to view Andrea Peacock’s entries: