National Newspaper Awards

The National Newspaper Awards honour the best journalism in daily newspapers and digital publications and were established in 1949 by the Toronto Press Club with the financial and moral support of the late C. George McCullagh.


Since 1989, the awards have been governed by a Board of Governors representing both daily newspapers and the public. The awards are administered by the not-for-profit Canadian Daily Newspaper Awards Programme Administration Corporation.

The awards program draws funds for its operations and for the prize money from entry fees, banquet ticket sales, a voluntary fund-raising program, the Toronto Press Club’s NNA Trust fund, and donations from sponsors of the awards gala.

There are 22 categories: Arts and Entertainment, Beat Reporting, Breaking News, Breaking News Photo, Business, Columns, Editorial Cartooning, Editorials, Explanatory Work, Feature Photo, General News Photo, International, Investigations, Local Reporting, Long Feature, Politics, Presentation/Design, Project of the Year, Short Feature, Sports, Sports Photo and Sustained News Coverage.

Entry Fees
Entry costs are $20 per entry for submissions from digital news organizations and freelance journalists who submit their work independently, $40 for entries published by organizations that support the NNAs by paying an annual Benefactor fee, and $50 for all other entries.

Judging is done by prominent people selected from across the country. Three judges in each category arrive at a consensus decision after examining the entries independently over a six-week period.

Complete rules and entry instructions can be found here.

For more information, including past winners, visit, or contact:

National Newspaper Awards
c/o ORP Law
180 Dundas Street West
Suite 1500
Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z8