CCNA wins 2001 literacy award

ABC Canada has awarded the Canadian Community Newspapers Association (CCNA) with the Honourable Joyce Fairbairn, P.C. Literacy Public Awareness Award for 2001.

ABC Canada’s board of directors voted unanimously at a meeting on September 10, 2001, to present CCNA with the award. The award was established by ABC Canada in 1996 to honour outstanding private-sector supporters of literacy awareness and is named for Senator Joyce Fairbairn, Special Advisor for Literacy.

Past winners of the award include Maclean Hunter Publishing, Southam, Baton Broadcasting and the Royal Bank Financial Group.

The award is to be presented to CCNA by Senator Fairbairn at a special dinner held by ABC Canada’s board of directors on February 25 in Toronto.

“Literacy is an issue that is directly linked to the long-term success of our industry,” said CCNA executive director Serge Lavoie. “It is good to see that our members are being appreciated for the excellent work they do in promoting literacy across Canada.”