The Code of Silence Awards are now accepting applications

This year’s Code of Silence Award for Outstanding Achievements in Government Secrecy is now accepting applications. 

The Code of Silence Awards call public attention to governments, government departments and agencies that distinguish themselves by denying public access to government information to which the public has a right under access-to-information legislation.

This year’s competition will recognize the outstanding efforts by:

  • The federal government, departments, and agencies; 
  • Provincial governments, departments, and agencies; 
  • Local governments, departments, and agencies; 
  • Law enforcement agencies

Deadline to submit nominees is December 9, 2022. You can easily make a nomination via this form

The Code of Silence Award for Outstanding Achievement in Government Secrecy is awarded annually by the Canadian Association of Journalists, in partnership with TMU’s Centre for Free Expression, Canadian Journalists for Free Expression, and News Media Canada.