Winners announced for the 2014 Great Idea Awards

Newspapers Canada is pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 Great Idea Awards for excellence in newspaper marketing. The annual awards program honours outstanding advertising and promotional campaigns produced by daily and community newspapers from across the country.

This year, 60 newspapers submitted over 260 entries in eight distinct award categories. First, second and third place winners from this year’s competition are now posted online at


  • For this year’s new Younger Reader Engagement Initiative award, the Prince George Citizen earned first place in the daily newspaper category for its Scene PG magazine and the Campbell River Mirror (BC) won for its special Carihi Mirror page produced in partnership with Carihi Secondary School.
  • The Hill Times from Ottawa earned first, second and third place in the Special Sections category for community newspapers (circulation 25,000 and over).
  • In the Print Innovation category, the Toronto Star took home first and second place among the daily newspapers and La Liberté from St-Boniface, Manitoba earned first and third place for community newspapers.   

Newspapers Canada would like to thank all of the participants, judges and sponsors that helped make this year’s Great Idea Awards a great success. We are honoured to continue this annual tradition of honouring the creative marketing and promotional efforts of the Canadian newspaper industry.

The individuals behind the winning ideas at this year’s competition will have the opportunity to share their stories of innovation and revenue growth during two special Great Ideas breakout sessions in Charlottetown, PEI on Thursday, May 29 during the INK+BEYOND newspaper conference. Attendees will hear the details behind the award-winning campaigns are sure to leave feeling inspired! The awards luncheon is included in the price of admission for the annual conference and trade show. For more details and to purchase conference passes, please visit

If you have any questions about the awards program, please contact awards coordinator Taylor Kormann at