2018 Canadian Journalism Foundation Awards competition now open

This year’s competition for the Canadian Journalism Foundation Awards is now open. The 2018 Awards will be held on June 14, 2018 at the Fairmont Royal York in Toronto. Please check individual awards for their respective deadlines.

Awards Presented

CJF-Facebook Journalism Project News Literacy Award 
This new award is a joint initiative by the CJF and the Facebook Journalism Project, established to promote news literacy among Canadians in an age of widespread information on various platforms and from different sources.

CJF Jackman Award for Excellence in Journalism 
This award honours an organization which embodies exemplary journalism with a resulting impact on the community it serves, in both a large media and small media category.

Lifetime Achievement Award
This award recognizes a substantial contribution by a Canadian journalist to the profession.

CJF Tribute
The annual CJF Tribute recognizes a media luminary or organization that has made an impact on the international stage.

CJF-CBC Indigenous Journalism Fellowships
These fellowships offer two early-career Indigenous journalists the chance to explore issues of interest while being hosted for one month by CBC News at its Indigenous Centre in Winnipeg. This award is supported by CN, Rosemary Speirs, CJF honorary governor, and Isabel Bassett, former chair and CEO of TVO.

The Landsberg Award
Named after Michele Landsberg–award-winning journalist, author, social activist and feminist–this award celebrates a journalist who is raising awareness about women’s equality issues in Canada and aims to inspire an increase in the media coverage and voice of women in Canada. The recipient receives a $5,000 prize. This award is presented in association with the Canadian Women’s Foundation.

Tom Hanson Photojournalism Award 
This award offers a six-week paid internship at The Canadian Press head office in Toronto to a photojournalist in the early stages of his or her career. The annual internship is designed to give a photographer trying to break into the business a chance to perform on the national stage. This award is sponsored by Nikon.

Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy
This fellowship provides a seasoned Canadian journalist with $100,000 and an opportunity to pursue a year-long investigation into a current policy issue. This award is a collaborative project of the Atkinson Foundation, the Honderich Family and the Toronto Star.

William Southam Journalism Fellowships
Awarded annually by the University of Toronto and Massey College, these fellowships reward mid-career journalists with an academic year to audit any course in the discipline of their choice and to participate fully in life at Massey College and the University. In association with Canadian Journalists for Free Expression, Journalists for Human Rights and the Canadian Journalism Foundation, Massey College and the University of Toronto are grateful for the generosity of the Alva Foundation, the estate of the late St. Clair Balfour, Lisa Balfour Bowen and Walter Bowen, Clair Balfour and Marci McDonald, Wilson J.H. Southam, the R. Howard Webster Foundation, the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation, CBC/Radio-Canada, Scotiabank, the McLaughlin Centre and for the generosity of past Journalism Fellows.

Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship
Awarded biennially, this fellowship allows the recipient to enjoy a one-year sabbatical at Harvard University. Funding is provided by The Martin Wise Goodman Nieman Trust to the Nieman Foundation for Journalism. The next fellow will be named in 2019.