New program director for National Newspaper Awards

The Board of Governors of the National Newspaper Awards (NNAs) is pleased to announce the appointment of Lauraine Woods as program director, effective immediately. She succeeds Bryan Cantley, who headed up the awards program as executive secretary for 24 years until his death in June. Woods worked closely with Cantley as executive assistant to the NNAs for the past four years. She will manage all operational aspects of the awards program, which annually honours Canada’s finest daily journalism in print and online.

“Bryan has left large shoes to fill, but Lauraine is more than capable, as she demonstrated in the spring when Bryan’s illness left him unable to work during the final stages of organizing the large gala dinner,” said Scott White, chair of the NNA Board of Governors.

A graduate of Western University as well Humber College’s Volunteer Management certificate program, Woods worked previously as executive director of the Meals on Wheels program in Oakville, Ont. In the 1990s, she worked as a freelance feature reporter for the Hamilton Spectator.

She will be supported in her new role by two individuals with close ties to the National Newspaper Awards and the daily news business in Canada: Paul Woods as editorial consultant and Ron Poling as technical consultant.

Paul Woods worked for The Canadian Press for 31 years as a reporter, editor, newsroom manager and senior executive, and has also taught journalism at Ryerson University. He recently published his first book, Bouncing Back: From National Joke to Grey Cup Champs.

Poling worked as a photographer for the Ottawa Citizen, United Press Canada and The Canadian Press, and as photo editor and a senior executive for The Canadian Press during a 30 year media career. He also serves as a member of the NNA Board of Governors.

This is the 25th year for the NNAs under a Board of Governors that includes editors, publishers and members of the public from across Canada, as well as representatives of the Toronto Press Club.

Founded by the Toronto Press Club in 1949, the NNAs honour the best journalism in daily newspapers and digital publications. To be eligible for the 2013 competition, an entry must have been published this year by a Canadian daily newspaper (in print or online) in English or French, or by an Internet site that meets eligibility criteria established by the Board of Governors.

This year’s winners will be announced next May 30 at a gala dinner in Charlottetown, P.E.I.

Details about the awards program, including past winners, can be found at

For more information, contact:
Paul Woods, Editorial Consultant
905 681-8675 (office)
647 606-8687 (mobile)